Want to be the next Neil Harris ?

It is the dream of many youngsters we meet to play for Millwall FC and follow in the footsteps of their heroes with fame and fortune. Not many want to follow into the roles of managers or coaching staff.

Millwall Community Trust are offering the perfect opportunity for men or women who want to be the next Neil Harris! The Community Trust regularly run courses for budding managers, giving them their first qualification on the football coaching ladder. The next series of FA Level 1 courses are due to take place in June and August 2018, with the course to be held at the Lion’s Centre , next to Millwall FC Stadium. Millwall Community Trust football development manager Sean Daly said " The FA level 1 certificate offers an opportunity for football coaches to be supported in developing the knowledge of how to effectively manage and coach a local club team and develop the skills and techniques of young people in that club. The qualification will provide candidates with a further knowledge in the principles and practices of safe, ethical and effective management and style of coaching of a team between the ages of seven and sixteen as an assistant under the supervision of a qualified coach" The course is over a four-day course, plus two evenings is open to men and women aged 16+ and the cost of the course is £180. Dates being for the next two FA Level 1 courses below:

L1 – Course 1

Saturday 16th June 2018 (9am to 5pm)

Tuesday 19th June 2018 (7pm to 10pm)

Saturday 23th June 2018 (9am to 5pm)

Thursday 26th June 2018 (7pm to 9pm)

Saturday 30th June 2018 (9am to 5pm)

Saturday 7th July 2018 (9am to 3pm)

L1 – Course 2

Saturday 11st August 2018 (9am to 5pm)

Tuesday 14th August 2018 (7pm to 10pm)

Saturday 18th August 2018 (9am to 5pm)

Thursday 21st August 2018 (7pm to 9pm)

Saturday 25th August 2018 (9am to 5pm)

Saturday 1st September 2018 (9am to 3pm)

The course will also include classroom modules on Safeguarding children, coach player development, Plan, do and review, the Future Player health and safety and a first aid course. Practical sessions will include supervising and organising football activities including conditioned games and promoting working relationship with players.

More details and application forms are available from Sean Daly at the Community Trust office on

07973324987 or email [email protected]